pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

New Year's Eve

It seemed only fitting that after 364 previous days of “oh crap, I need a blip for today, I'll photograph any old thing” that my 2013 blip year was rounded off with that exact same sentiment!

Here are some jelly beans which were given to me by my mother as part of a long-standing and much appreciated tradition.

To compound my lazy attitude, not only is it a last minute shot, it is also practically a carbon copy of my blip from 3rd January this year, which I'm sure you'll all remember......no? It's here if you really care to look!

Hutch and I had decided at a very early stage that we didn't want to do anything for New Year's Eve or New Year's Day for that matter, so we got m'boy down early doors, ordered a curry and sat down to watch Man of Steel (which was OK). Neither of us were bothered about waiting up until midnight, but we thoroughly enjoyed our quiet evening in and we are both looking forward to another lazy day tomorrow (as dictated by the incoming weather) and getting the Christmas decorations down – it'll be nice to have the house back.

This blip, although poor, is a special one for me as it marks the completion of a full calendar year of one photo a day with attaching blurb. As a perennial non-completer of self-imposed tasks this is something of an achievement for me. More than that, I've really enjoyed doing it and have been heartened and encouraged by some lovely comments that have been posted both online and also from people in the real-life, 3D world!

It's really nice to know that when you send something out into the digital ether, there are people out there who are looking at your daily effort and on occasion even taking the time to respond or pass positive comment.

It's one of the things that I love most about Blipfoto: it is a supportive and positive community regardless of your ability as a photographer or writer and I would encourage anyone to give it a go.

I have completed my task now of 365 consecutive photos and fully intend to carry on blipping, but I'm not going to have so much of a focus on one a day, but instead will TRY to post only when I have a half-decent photo or something borderline interesting to say. <insert your own gag here>

For now, I would like to wish you all a very Happy New Year and take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to look at my blips and the kind words that have been left!

All the best for 2014.

Keeeeeep blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.