Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

The Ferry Syncro Swimming Team

Another New Year and as is the tradition in the Ferry on the 1st, it is the Annual "Loony Dook".

I have missed seeing the spectacle for a number years and I have only participated in it once back in the year 2000 - when I won a bottle of "Millennium Edition" Glenmorangie Malt Whisky - never unopened and increasing in value I do believe!!

The event has changed somewhat over the years and is now officially under the banner of the Edinburgh New Year festivities which is a shame because it has lost some of its character - it has become tooooo big!

The crowds were vast and you therefore missed some of the goings on - however a couple of highlights for me were seeing some friends enjoying the spectacle, a couple who got engaged on the beach after he had been "Dooked" - (congrats to them!!) - a great bunch of drummers called the Beastie Drummers who entertained the crowd (nearly the chosen blip but slightly pipped at the post by todays final chosen entry)- and the Ferry Syncro Team - or was that the Local Lifeboat Crew??? as shown in my blip today.

Well I hope you have had an enjoyable day - heading off to work now and I hope you all have a Very Happy 2014 - not promising to post every day but when I do, you will see it first here..

Slainte

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.