Ikol

By Ikol

Reading (for fun!)

The semester has a way of turning reading into a chore. Which it can be sometimes anyway, but especially when it's assigned and has to be read within a certain timeframe (and when you have a million other things to do, too), sitting down for a few hours and enjoying a good book becomes a luxury.

I'm enjoying this break so far primarily because it's given me an opportunity to get some reading done for me, myself, and I. I've got a giant stack of books to "get through" over the next two weeks, but of course unlike required reading I can take as long as I want on these and not worry about deadlines or anything else. Which sounds like everyday reading to most people, but like I said -- grad school can take some of the fun out of it sometimes.

The book above is 2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson. It's a slow burn but quite good; I'm about halfway through it and am enjoying it immensely. Next on the list is Dawn by Octavia Butler and The Word for World is Forest by Ursula K. Le Guin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.