Houseonahill6

By Houseonahill6

One River Challenge - starting at the end

I thought I would join The Daily Bun on her One River Challenge. So today I set off for the mouth of the River Ness.
The River Ness is only 7 miles long running through the city of Inverness. Inverness in Scottish Gaelic stands for 'mouth of the River Ness'.
So today I start my journey at Carnarc Point (Cairn Airc) in South Kessock. It is found on the Western bank of the River Ness, the last piece of dry land before it flows into the Beauly Firth. The name relates to 'the cairn of the seas' . A large Cairn was here and is thought to now be below the high tide mark. There are a further three cairns hidden by the water in the Beauly Firth.

A path leads you to a big green beacon and you can see the Kessock Bridge carrying the A9 over the Beauly Firth and Inverness harbour on the opposite side of the river. One of the blue boats seen is the Avoch fishing I saw come in on the 20th December.

I'm looking forward to discovering all the hidden secrets of this great river at the end of the Great Glen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.