Pepysman

By Pepysman

Good for the brain...

I read an article in a newspaper that reading an novel can stimulate your brain for days according to researchers at Atlanta's Emory University. Today I finished this Le Carre novel which certainly gives the reader a lot to think about. Surely no Conservative MP would be on close terms with a dubious Russian oligarch.

I read my first Le Carre book at the tail end of my fifth year at secondary school. It was "Call For The Dead" in which I was surprised to learn that in those days (1960) the Foreign Office began work at 10.00 am. Since then I have read most of his work and watched whatever tv productions and films have appeared but for me there is only one George Smiley and that is Alec Guinness.

Now my book at bedtime is "Death Comes to Pemberley".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.