Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

All is love

We're at home today.

You can guess the rest.

But at least I took a few captures.

And here the 2014 business goals.

Goal #1 : To create a motion
picture.

Some background info. After 20 years in film photography, I started learning digital in year 2000, a medium I've mostly focused on since. Now comes my new medium. Motion. It long ago occurred to me that my preferred style of shooting is continuous and very fluid, each frame seemingly blending into the next. And through hiring a few photographers this year to capture portraits, I've come to realise it's not commonplace. I mean, it's a real bane to edit from thousands of frames were it not something I've become accustomed to doing with efficiency on an unconscious level. So a mini session of 25 mins will yield 300 fluid frames even after the misses have been culled, the slight change in expression or detail making it unique. That's my style that's bought into. It goes to the heart of where I started in photojournalism, not having a direct contact with the subject, but observing
from afar. Except I then learnt the art of portraiture and found a way to blend both loves into my sessions, with dedicated time for each client or family member to create a series of perfect portraits. That's what I give to every client shoot. Both the reportage coverage and the perfect portraits. But I then started to challenge myself. What if those fluid frames took flight and motion, the millisecond between the frames could also be captured. Motion is the obvious next step for me. It was my first influence in the visual arts with the movies my family gauged on and debated on growing up. I then started to explore and learn audio, have invested in gear such as the stellar Canon 5D3 and audio recording devices, to make that work for me. In post production, I'm learning editing techniques. I will make a movie documentary. Stated. Expect the gamut of influences and experiences in my life to date to be drawn upon to make this happen and to increasingly create fusion pieces of still and motion .

Goal #2 : To market cyber and print collections.

The background info. When often asked about providing CDs after sessions, I'll lead clients to an article I wrote on why it's not something I provide (will edit and re-publish). In summary, CDs are fading technologies in computers, they are easily lost or become corrupt. With each successive copying and even re-opening of an image, the quality degrades. And I'd need to invest in prettily marketed CD materials to boot, a cost that will be born in my pricing (happy?). I have a postgrad in marketing so I value branding but not in terms of branding CDs. I could go on but suffice to say, the best method of delivery of images for me and my clients after 5 years is still via my Smugmug website. And you still can share the gallery with friends and family. Images have a back end storage on Amazon (safer than the CD the dusty drawer right?) and you can request a new gallery download for a nominal fee at any future time. Not bad right? So, I'm stating here that my goal in 2014 after much business thought is to continue to provide digital collections but with a minimal print order. Since I set up my own in studio print lab in November (I drool at this), my appreciation of my own work has been a beautiful, illuminating experience and other superlatives to that affect meaning I've said Wow. Hey, you mean you can touch a photograph in your hands, see the fine and lustre grain? Revolutionary! Physically holding a matted print that's been perfectly colour calibrated to exactly how I've designed it. Well, it just feels great. It becomes the art intended, the final product, not a commodity. It deserves to be shot, framed and hung and I'm not talking criminal activity. As a client of photography too, I know the importance of digital collections. I get it. You want them. So they'll now come with a minimal Fine Art Print order, because I also really need for you to see how the images look when I capture and make them in post production editing whilst acknowledging that need to physically "own" your images.

Goal #3 : To devote more time to each client of a smaller client base.

Looking through my client work in 2013 comprising more than 110 individual family or child portraits, in addition to the full day coverages of weddings, bat mitzvahs, quinceaneras and charity events, even hiring 2 or 3 assistants to physically assist in shooting, is a tall order. It's also unsustainable with my family. So I'll be more selective of assignments I take on whilst still working as a full time pro photographer. That means a price increase again. But it's an investment in memory preservation.

Goal #4 : To design and create stock imagery for advertising and commercial use.

This one makes me smile. I already currently license about 110 images to Getty to be used commercially. But 15 years ago I was either commissioning photoshoots for global ad campaigns for the investment bank as head of advertising and later for London's transport network at TfL as head of the marketing department, or purchasing stock imagery for campaigns. So the smile comes from being on the other side of the supply chain. Focusing on this more from idea generation through to creative execution brings together my entire work experience to date. When something feels that right it deserves more attention than I've been giving it. And it means more time in my home studio, but less time on location and away from my boys.

Goal #5 : To exhibit my work.

Behind the scenes, I've been working on an exhibition. I will exhibit in 2014! I can kick myself for taking so long about it, but there it is stated. The subject and locations enthrall me. And I'm excited!

And that's it. Life and work will go on for clients (can I shout how much I love shooting events so please keep bringing them on!), but my personal business goals will be to make these things goals happen.

Motion.
Cyber and print.
Client service.
Stock imagery.
Exhibition.

Thanks for the journey in 2013. And may 2014 be your launch pad to making your own dreams and personal goals a reality. Just believe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.