Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

New chairs for the office

Before Christmas I started on some renovations in our home and the first project was to make an office/guestroom where our younger son had his bedroom for the last 9 years. He moved to a bigger room when his older brother went to university in Reyjavík last August.
I began with sanding and refinishing the parquet floor and after that I did some magic with a bucket of paint. Everything turned white and fresh and my father made a new custom desk for me. Now I have a nice view from the window where I placed my computer and it's warm and cosy since the radiator is underneath the window too. I've even got an electric foot warmer (yes, you may laugh but it's brilliant!) and I turn it on if I'm really cold.
Now there are just a few things I need to buy or make to get the room finished. One was accomplished today when we bought new chairs for the desk. I love those January sales - and I love that my husband had the energy to assemble them before going back to work tonight. It's many long days for an administrator of exams this time of year...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.