Along for the Ride

By NaRked4fun

Praying to the ICE gods

UK weather being what it is and my weekends being split between a number of outdoor sports I figure its worth a punt and asking nicely for some of the cold stuff.

The "I" is made up of 4 ice screws, these are screwed into solid ice and prove to be remarkably secure, the longer ones are listed as having a working load upwards of 2000kg, When placed properly in perfect ice! Not always an option in the Scottish highlands

The "C" is mainly one of my new ice axes, with the addition of a couple of rock pegs, these are hammered into cracks in the rocks and the rope clipped into them

The "E" is my second pair of trusty Grivel 2F crampons, these have been great for general winter climbing upto grade 5 for steeper and more technical climbing I'm looking to upgrade to something a bit more cutting edge. I usually use these crampons in fully rigid mode but the last trip I had was a late season visit to Ben Nevis when I was using some new and not fully rigid boots so I had to remove the small screws that lock the crampons rigid, these screws have subsequently evaporated :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.