La vida de Annie

By Annie

Sex on the beach....

... is not recommended unless you're into extreme dermabrasion. It is however a delicious cocktail, first sampled on holiday and now recreated by #1 daughter, who has the twin essential talents of being a trained barrista (i.e. can work those huge fancy Italian coffee-making machines), and also has her own drinks licence and is a whiz at mixing concoctions such as these. I'm not so sad that I've taken to drinking in the daytime (unless presented with an irresistible offer, of course), so this was actually taken so late last night that it was actually this morning. Feeling just a touch fragile now, but the sun's shining and I woke with this song in my head, a blast from the past when I was in my teens and full of hope and optimism and joie de vivre. I was deeply in love with the singer on the basis of his voice alone, until of course I saw a picture of him. Paul Rodgers still has the voice and has shed the extreme hairiness and monobrow but he's still no looker. I chose this version of the song to link to as it features Brian May with his usual understated but sublime skill on guitar, and therefore nods to my Queen addiction.

Whoa-oh-oh-oh-woha
There she stood in the street
smilin' from her head to her feet;
I said, "Hey, what is this?
Now maybe, baby,
maybe she's in need of a kiss."
I said, "Hey, what's your name?
Maybe we can see things the same.
"Now don't you wait, or hesitate.
Let's move before they raise the parking rate."
All right now, baby, it's a-all right now.
All right now, baby, it's a-all right now.
(Let me tell you now)
I took her home to my place,
Watchin' every move on her face;
She said, "Look, what's your game?
Are you tryin' to put me to shame?"
I said "Slow, don't go so fast, don't you think that love can last?"
She said, "Love, Lord above,
now you're tryin' to trick me in love."
All right now, baby, it's a-all right now.
All right now, baby, it's a-all right now

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.