This Monkey's Gone to Heaven

As we were waiting for The Pixies to arrive onstage at Brixton Academy, Fred asked me if there were any more bands that I'd longed to see but hadn't yet seen. I thought and thought, but really The Pixies are the last of my all-time favourite bands that I hadn't seen. This year has been great - Ultravox, U2 and now The Pixies. Their album 'Doolittle' was bought for me by a friend for my 18th birthday and it became one of the soundtracks to my first year at university. I would plug myself into my Walkman and take The Pixies for a stroll through the Grassmarket and up Arthur's Seat. This evening, The Pixies played 'Doolittle' from start to finish - surely one of the best concerts ever. I knew all the songs and anticipated (with great excitement) the next song because I knew which one it would be. Hooray!!

The support band, The Big Pink, are definitely worth a mention - I haven't seen hair action like that since my late teens. Long live moshing! (I never did mosh - I was quite useless at it, but I admire those who can do continuous 360 degree hair swings over several minutes.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.