BeautyTrumpsAll

By BeautyTrumpsAll

Hanuman's "birthday"

This little guy came back to the US with me one year ago today.

At this time last year, I was just returning from a two week trip to Tamil Nadu, the southern-most state of India. I bought this small bronze hand-cast murti of Hanuman, the monkey god, at Suri's murti shop in Swamimalai and dragged him through many time zones to where he now dwells.

Hanuman is a shape-shifter. He can fluidly adapt his size, shape, and outward appearance to best navigate the situation at hand while still retaining his essential nature. As I re-create myself in 2014, I'll be looking to him for inspiration. He reminds me that labels, job titles, and addresses are like costumes that can be changed when needed. The enduring good stuff is always there inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.