Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Matariki over Memory Park

In the Māori language Matariki is both the name of the Pleiades star cluster and also of the season of its first rising in late May or early June—taken as the beginning of the new year. The constellation was important for navigation and timing the seasons.

The quick flashes from torches of others on the beach has given Memory Park this eerie 'other world' look. With Matariki just to the right and above Memory Park, and Taurus and what I think is Jupiter above and further to the right, I'm recognising more of the night sky. My star photography started over a year ago in Iceland and was very tentative - it's probably still tentative, truth be told, but I'm enjoying it more and more. There are even more stars if you go Large!

Thanks for the fabulous feed back for yesterday's Milky Way image - all your stars and faves are very much appreciated!

I visited the chemist this morning - open again at last after the New Year break - and spent a fortune. Hopefully some or all will help this lurgy move on. My oldest son has just arrived in Auckland from Japan and comes over to Great Barrier tomorrow - I can't wait!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.