Scottish Flyer

By ianjardine

Getting closer

He came back!

Not surprising really given that I tempted him with nuts and grapes for breakfast and it turns out he is not so afraid of humans as I first thought. Not that I'm hoping to feed him by hand, not with those claws, but he did allow me to get within 6 feet of him. He appeared quite relaxed though and calmly sat and munched away for a good ten minutes in front of me. While I stood there I involuntarily sneezed. He didn't move a muscle, just looked at me ever so still for a few seconds before continuing to eat. I thought to myself, I must be able take a picture without scaring him off? Lets see…

I reached every so slowly for the camera, smoothly and tentatively raised it to my eye, focussed, took a deep breath and then CLICK! The noise of the shutter frightened him so much he squealed, jumped 3 feet vertically into the air and in a flash darted back across the garden. So this is one lucky shot. The only one I managed to get.

Well, it is Friday so I wish you all a great weekend. After another standby duty today I'm flying all weekend (Murcia and Malaga) so may not get time to Blip again until Monday or Tuesday, we will see how it works out.

Bye for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.