Snapshots of rural France

By SuzB

D -Day - Waiting for the phone to ring...

…and in the end it was an email, at lunchtime.

Ok so what is today all about?

I decided two weeks ago I would go back to work. My last attempt (those of you who remember the end of October) didn't go too well. (And I quit!) It's taken a lot of deliberate thinking and hard decision making to get to this decision. Now that I have smoothed my ego down, I have decided to accept the offer made at that time, which was to go back to my old job, but without my management hat on. I have been waiting for my boss to arrive back from holiday and today was that day.

I am sure this sounds like a small thing to a lot of you, but to me it's huge. I have been off since the beginning of April 2013 on sabbatical leave but with various health issues to overcome. I have overcome them and feel stronger and more determined than ever.

I know that without the management part of the job, such as out of hours support, mentoring, training, holding meetings and problem solving, I can just keep my head down and do one working week in a week instead of two! I am excited and not daunted by this new start and looking forward to the challenges of beginning again, with all the knowledge I have gained over the past 6 plus years in the job.

So the result is yes they are keen to see me back, but have to meet with my supervisor (next Tuesday), talk to my doctor (yes I know....) and then meet with me, hopefully next week some time. So there is an inevitable delay in signing contracts and getting my feet on the ground actually working, whilst waiting for the meetings and discussions to end.

I still intend to further my photography but it will be on part time basis.

Being part of blip has been a massive help in my stability over the past few months and I thank all those who have been in touch. You all mean a lot to me!

by the way this is not the blip I had intended…here is what I went to take (you have to scroll down to the bottom of the page), but as I approached the place (near the old railway station in Civray) where it normally stands, it had disappeared. I have emailed the twinning association to find out more…I hope it hasn't been nicked!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.