Memory lane

Mr A & I have had a very productive day. We started last night, packing all the Christmas stuff away (the house looks bare now!) and getting other bits & bobs from the loft to take to the tip today.

I confess I'm a sentimental so & so, so I had boxes full of scrapbooks, old greetings cards and photos that were all from my former life. Although they weren't doing any harm in the loft, I had to ask myself 'do I really need reminders and albums of my ex husband'?I think not!

I sorted through them and cherry picked a few bits that I really wouldn't want to be parted from (photos of my Gran and a few from my 30th when I swam with dolphins in Mexico).
The rest have been recycled at the local tip.

From there, Mr A & I ventured into Accrington. We had a spot of lunch then a mooch round the Arndale. Most of the shops in there have closed down, but the one that used to be H. Samuels has now been converted into a mini local museum. It features items from households, industry, the war and healthcare; it was really interesting.
Mr A liked the brick display with the obligatory 'I told you so' thrown in and also the section on Accrington transport, though he had loads more stuff in his panic room than they had on display.
Maybe he should donate all some of it?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.