Gifts of Grace

By grace

Safe

Front step, high tide. First time we've sandbagged the buidling. I was glad we did.

Carnage in the front garden, lake in the back, seepage through sandbags stopped two feet from my door. Phew!

I've been pondering why I'm so fascinated by this sense of jeopardy, danger. Near miss. In truth we are safe. Does this mean there was never any danger in reality? I'm not sure.

Adrenaline still surging, I might just have to head out and see what's what. In town you'd think nothing was amiss. By the water it is FIERCE.

Edit: As the tide, but not yet the wind, fell I took a walk along to where I used to live, a couple of blocks away. Devastation! I am so glad I moved from this, strangely taken two years ago to the day. I've put a couple more shots from today in the 'Storm' category in my Blipfolio. Also strangely the wheelie bin in the 'Debris' shot is the one from my old house (my writing on its side), strange because to reach it's current position it has sailed or floated across two gardens and two high walls! Feeling blessed, others not so lucky fire Brigade pumping out houses along the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.