paperTIGER

By papertiger

Water, water, everywhere.

Water, water, everywhere,
And all the boards did shrink;
Water, water, everywhere,
Nor any drop to drink.


-- Samuel Taylor Coleridge, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner


Driving from the west coast of Scotland to the east today was an experience I don't want to repeat again in a hurry. There was constant wind and rain, plus the roads were flooded in several places, not just because of the rain but because of all the lochs that were overflowing and all the water that was streaming down from the mountains and fields. I took this quick picture as I was waiting at a temporary traffic light at the side of Loch Lomond ... I wasn't going to venture out for anything else.

Me and my emergency breaks are now well acquainted and my arms are very sore from gripping the steering wheel.

However, sitting here, watching the news about people's homes and businesses being evacuated and/or flooded and I'm feeling pretty grateful. When I was 10 my Gran's house in Perth was flooded when the River Tay burst it's banks. The silver lining was that when they took up the sodden carpet they found lots of money which my Grandfather had secretly hidden there - he didn't believe in actual banks! Tomorrow will mark 27 years since he died. How can it be that long?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.