Navigation Poles

River rising; the river doesn't look it here but even as I watched I could almost feel her ire rising with the weather rose again, the winds lifting the rain driving, a coldness exacerbated by the biting of the wind. Later in the day the tides would rise to such and extent that the coastal roads were flooded and closed. The photographs I saw of familiar places I couldn't tell which was the land side and which the sea side.

I was glad to hear from my friend, they walked in the sun, but in they eye of the storm so many miles away and as we talked I could hear the wind tearing at them and all to soon the rains came there too.

The pole in the foreground is mirrored by another identical one out towards the channel, as far as I know they are navigation poles which when aligned allowed skippers to accurately plot their position in the channel which is narrow and treacherous on this beat of our river.

I hope you enjoy the shot, again monochrome and in this weather and this light it works better than any colour shot could, the storm continues to rage here, wherever you are tonight, again, I hope you are safe and sheltered from the storms, tomorrow is another day, we may see snow but we will just have to wait and see...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.