Just looking..

By ccleeve

St Andrews West Sands

Our second day on the beach in Scotland, this time in St Andrews, my alma mater. Beautiful weather again, though cold. D had great fun throwing a ball for my sister's dog, collecting shells, splashing in puddles and writing in the sand. I'm not sure that he even felt the cold!

It's a long time since I graduated and while somethings haven't changed about the town, I was sad to see more and more high street names moving in - it was wonderful to have lots of independent coffee shops, and restaurants, now there's Costa, Starbucks, Zizzi, Nandos.... we used to only have Tesco Metro, now Sainsburys have opened down the road. I remember when New Look opened - it was almost exciting as it was the only high street clothing shop. It's now become H&M and Joules is round the corner with Superdry across the road. Good though to see gift shop Bonkers, the Fisher and Donaldson bakery (home of the famous fudge doughnut) and the Doll's House restaurant still going strong. Also independent cinema the New Picture House.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.