Long day's journey into night

Here I am (somewhere in there) on a bus leaving Hampstead at 7.30am to catch the 8.45 train from Paddington station to Fishguard, normally a journey of 5 and half hours changing once at Cardiff.

Today as we travelled west the weather was apocalyptic. My journey took over 8 hours and involved 7 changes as I was patched across the country. That's right, I alighted at Bristol, Newport, Cardiff, Swansea, Llanelli, Carmarthen and Haverfordwest, transferring from train to bus to cross the areas where flooding had affected the railway line.

Fortunately I had a warm coat and a good book* and could look forward to some delicious son-cooked food when I finally reached home after dark.

(*Dear Life, a collection of stories by Alice Munro who has recently been awarded the Nobel prize for literature, and rightly so.)

I hope to be able to catch up with comments after a busy few days in which I have had little time to spare for checking journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.