AviLove

By avilover

Bubo virginianus

#3 - BlipBigYear 2014

Today J and I ventured up north to Patrick's Point State Park in search of avian denizens of the coastal spruce forests. The park sits atop cliffs overlooking the ocean. Trails weave through moss-covered trees and skirt the cliff edges with views of the crashing waves below. Spotted Owls used to inhabit these forests but have since been almost entirely displaced by an invading eastern species, the Barred Owl. The latter is now much more expected at Patrick's Point, along with the Northern Pygmy Owl and the ubiquitous Great Horned Owl. My visits to the park always spark within me a sliver of hope that I might lay my eyes on such an elusive bird, but it was J's tireless optimism and keen eyes that yielded this sleepy Great Horned Owl in the afternoon. Admittedly he spotted it at the exact moment I was uttering the words, "Scanning the trees won't work! I have never ever found an owl by just looking at the trees!" Consider me happily corrected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.