bellebird

By lubelle

The Beach

I never imagined there would be time to drive to the beach today. It's great to be spontaneous and seize the moment, especially when there is still a wild blue sky. I was feeling tired after a long day. Several acute call-outs. Only one more day before I have a short break and can turn the pager off. Can't wait.

Allan's beach on the Otago Peninsular is only 10 minutes away. The drive is spectacular. Through an estuary where we see many Herons, Oyster Catchers, and Pied Stilts. Above us Harbour Cone known to Maori as Hereweka an ancient volcanic blow hole.

On the beach Izzy and her boyfriend Cyprus run into the wild incoming tide and get soaked. We find a lovely spot to settle and make sand castles. The beach is empty of people. I'm selfishly happy there's only us.

I walk to where the estuary meets the sea. I feel so alive and happy to live here. It's here that I connect and dance inside.

I come across these three beautiful Sea Lions. One male and two females. They allow me into their world as they stretch and snort. These creatures are so beautiful and although not uncommon here I always feel so privileged to share the beach with them.

Can you spot the tag on the males flipper?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.