Scratchy

Today’s blip challenge is scratchy, so I have chosen wire wool, my reason for this is explained below.

Recently I got together all of the materials required to refurbish our house sign. This sign is made from a block of mahogany about 40mm thick, 600mm long and some 150mm high, it has been carved with the house name, which is recessed by about 10mm and in-filled with paint. This block has been oiled after the paintwork, but has now become very dull and moss is starting to grow on its upper edge; the sign is now quite hard to read. I intended to remove the sign and then wire wool this, to clean off the old oil, which has turned into varnish and then re-paint the in-fill, so that when this was dry I could re-oil with linseed oil.

I went outside to take the screws from the sign and bring it indoors, but discovered that the entire sign was completely waterlogged due to the heavy rain which we have been having, so I put the screws back in and returned back indoors. This blip is of the wire wool which I was going to use to scratch, very finely, the entire surface of the sign. The wire wool, paint and oil are now indoors awaiting the drying out of the sign, which is now likely to be late summer!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.