aballantyne01

By aballantyne01

Through The Lens

I got my second pair of prescription glasses today - a first in eight years. I don't know how I have managed to keep my first pair brake and scratch free but thankfully I have. On the way home in the car, I caught sight of myself in the mirror and began to laugh at myself for a good couple of minutes. Thankfully they are now growing on me!

It takes a while to get used to 'things' that alter ones view of the self - what you consider the norm for yourself to be. Getting my new pair of lenses made me think about perspectives and personas, realities and fantasies, how we view ourselves versus the view others have of us.

A bit like a photographer and his camera - a photograph is not always a true representative of reality. A good photographer is a visual story teller - he can elaborate certain parts of the story or leave parts out depending upon what he wants you to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.