Churchill's Passion

Having driven Mum (and Joey the cat) home yesterday, I travelled back to my home today in dismal weather. I took a slight detour to Chartwell, which was playing host to an exhibition of photos from the International Garden Photographer of the Year. Some of the photos were fantastic, but I'm afraid the poor lighting didn't really do them justice. In particular, the winning photo didn't really live up to the judges' description of why they chose it.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed the visit, and the opportunity to walk round the grounds without the crowds which are normally found at this venue, due to its famous owner: Winston Churchhill purchased Chartwell, his beloved home in the country in 1924, and lived there until his death in 1964. An accomplished artist, he had a studio in the grounds overlooking the lake he built, with its wooden bridge leading to a small island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.