a town called E.

By Eej

J. and E.'s day of FUN!

I wanted to go to South Haven for a toe-dip on the first, but there was too much snow on the roads and it was nasty so the Beloved promised me today. In the car I said something about how I did not intend to do a dip today - and it was a good thing I did because 1. I wouldn't have been able to find any water close to shore that wasn't frozen solid and 2. if I had I'd be minus at least 1 toe by now.
It was about 14F when we left home - with wind gusts up to 40mph. I celebrated it all by sinking thigh deep in to the snow but just with one leg - and then falling over. So that was awesome.
The wind picked up considerably too, but it came from the wrong direction, really, so no spectacular shots of waves crashing over the lighthouse. The blowing snow made up for it though. And the light. And the swells of ice crashing through the canal all the way to the marina. And the gulls. Yep. *nods head* It was all grand.

Then we went to the other side of the canal (North Beach) so I could look at the ice dunes that are forming there. It felt a bit like civilisation had ended and I was the only person still alive (but not really because the Beloved was in the car on the other side of the snow dunes.)
I walked back to the car feeling all proud and happy; "Look at ME world, I'm here and I'm loving it!" I stood on a icy snow mountain gesturing the Beloved to take a proud moment photo with his phone. So he did. And then I tumbled over again, ending flat on my back. I laughed. Hard. I'm invincible.

And this is my favouritest photo because it made me 'ahhhhh' when I saw it on the screen. That almost never happens :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.