The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Sitting Pretty

Two things that have been a constant in my life have been Oriental rugs and cats. Yes, a few dogs joined me every now and then, but I cannot remember living without the others.

Mika is the newest in a very long succession of kitties. In a rare moment in time, she has stayed still long enough for me to take her picture. She can normally be found racing around so fast that we have nicknamed her "Alien," for the elusive creature that explodes out of John Hurt's chest during the movie.

As for the Oriental rug, this one once resided in my parent's home, as a runner on the stairs. It then rested in our hallway when we moved. Today, it is in my brother's home, where it once again protects hardwood floors.

My cats both enjoy sitting on this rug. I cannot help but think that they sense all of the wonderful pets that have put their scent on it.

Mika has moved on and is now birdwatching in the picture window, but will be frozen in time in this blip, as my family's history is embedded in this rug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.