horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Dug In

Well that was.... hard.... The bike, it has to be said, performed absolutely superbly for only having about 3 miles under the wheels (around 47 fewer than I'd planned); whereas I... Well, my aim was not to come last, and I think I managed that. Actually, I think there were 3 or 4 behind me. This is an improvement on previous cross races, so I'm a bit pleased, and it's spurring me on to actually do this 'training' thing this year.

The pic, given it's of me, wasn't actually taken by me, but rather my Father in Law, who seemed to enjoy himself, and did a good job with the camera of snapping various riders (there were better shots than this, but narcissism dictates its use here).

Big thing was not falling (couple of close calls) and a few sections where I was actually very fast (generally where I had to get off the bike, but also one very steep little kick up that I rode all but one lap). But man, hard work when the headwind kicked in on one exposed bit.

Hot bath, G&T downed, second drink now drained, mac n' cheese on its way. And still got the video footage I took to check out.

Oh, and I hope you all appreciate the black, white and orange colourscheme going right through my get-up and into the make-up of the bike. These things are important y'know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.