DairyDodger

By DairyDodger

Hanging Around

There's a bit of a story behind this one...

This morning I decided to go for a ride on the bike as I didn't do a lot yesterday and thought I should get out. The ride ended up taking me into central London (about 17miles from where I live). Needless to say, in true Blip fashion (addiction) I brought my camera in a rucksack. I rode about not needing to be anywhere and the freedom to go wherever I like. It was great.

I stopped at a few places, Vauxhall Bridge, Parliament Square and a few other places, then ended up in Trafalgar Square and had my Blip for the day. I stopped because of the giant blue cockerel on the plinth at the top, looking over the square. I stopped for this, then realised one of the lions were looking straight at me, and it made a great photograph. Which brings me to what happened next. A Scandinavian (I think) woman jumped up on the wall next to a lamp post about 20ft away from me. She was waiting for the people on the pavement to go past so her boyfriend/husband could take her picture from the other side of the road. 'That's sweet' I thought to myself. Then it happened, she flung herself upside down, nearly falling, but managed to hook a leg over the bar. She quickly realised the bar wasn't that big and it wasn't such a good idea and came down. I couldn't believe my luck that I had the right lens connected and managed to get her at the peak of her madness. They had a good laugh about it afterwards and no one was hurt. All's well that ends well. It did make me think, the days of standing and smiling for a picture are fast becoming a thing of the past, and I suppose this picture would now be a great memory for them :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.