Adventures

By asussexlady

Save our Souls, sorry Baths!

Today's Blip is a place I frequent (in fact, I swam today) - and a place that is under severe threat by council budget cuts. I'm on a "weight loss journey" and use swimming as my primary source of exercise because it's good for my health issues. The pool is also used by a lot of people with health issues and is recommended by local GPs because it's easily accessible. Wolverhampton has had a central baths for decades, but unless they find a way to pay the annual subsidy of £330,000 the baths will close for good in March 2014. Luckily, a few organisations have picked up the cause and are fighting for the Baths but just in case it does close, I'm going to make the most of it for now and swim as much as I can!

For those interested, there's a petition you can sign, here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.