Goodbye

Tonight, while we sleep, the first snow will fall...the earliest in twenty-four years, according to the weather people.

One local TV channel's weather man was so annoyingly happy when he announced this fact. He must be a skier. We recently had the weather man from another local TV channel move in two houses down. I'd like to walk over there with some chocolate chip cookies and tell him where he can stuff the snow, but that would be taking my annoyance out on the wrong weather man, wouldn't it.

For me, this sudden cold snap meant going around the garden, pulling and cutting the plants that were so blackened by last night's first frost that I don't want to look at them anymore. That included the magnificent morning glory that raced up one post of the pergola, flowered profusely and provided much happiness and many blips this year.

Before I said goodbye and yanked the whole vine down, I blipped one tiny, pinky-tip sized bud that will now never be a flower. Sniff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.