Boyko

By Boyko

Mizpa

Fifteen years ago I went to Spain on an exchange programme and met Mizpa - a Dutch student who became my friend. We shared a lot in common and had the same idealistic approach to life. During a short visit to Santander, while the others were sunbathing, we both disappeared and ran over the hills and the beautiful coastline in search of a natural rock bridge as we'd seen on a postcard. We found it. We celebrated our find and remembered it for life.
Two years ago I went to Spain on a holiday with my family and drove along the Basque coast, including Santander. Very early one morning I slipped out of the hotel room and ran alone over those hills in search of the same rock bridge. I found it and remembered the days I'd been there with Mizpa.
Today Mizpa came to visit us in our hotel. He is now a GP working in New Zealand. Time squashed to a cup-size full of delight. We talked and talked and the scenery out the window was changing depending on what each of us had encountered in life...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.