Theleens

By Theleens

Salt and Snow

I arrived back around midnight, bed about 1am but only to sleep until 7am. I felt excited to get up, as if it was Christmas all over again. The reason? I was going to head to Bedford Street diner for a massive breakfast then go to Mill River Park to take photographs. An added bonus came in the form of Susan and her daughter joining me for breakfast. They too came with cameras for a nature shoot.

The park looked graceful and calm. Snow lay thick yet shimmered in pockets of light stretching its fingers over the morning's horizon. We set about taking heaps of pictures: lamp posts, headstones, ducks, frozen river. However, a good 40 minutes later the freezing rain set in for the day, triggering most people to stay home. Susan and Maddie headed home also but I stayed a few hours to help Brian clear the storm drains for when the mild temperatures would come later in the week. We also had to throw down salt as the paths were really treacherous. Bags upon bags of salt were poured into the yellow hopper.

No one was about. Only me, Lester and Brian.

I had a fair amount of exercise that even I was impressed I'd mustered up, having had little sleep, which might seem a bit foolish. But, the way I saw it, I'd been travelling for 20 hours and had been cooped up in terminals, lounges, cabins and generally conditioned air. So, it'd be great to get a big dose of fresh air. And that I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.