Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Write Every Day -- If You Can't, Then Dance

I tell my students that they should write every day. Most students are not in the classes I teach because they want to be writers. They explain quite frankly, "It's required." Otherwise, they wouldn't be in the class. A few, though, get captivated by the wonder of communicating effectively. And they write and write and write.

So this evening I'm sipping my own medicine. Telling myself, "You've got to write."

Then the other voice inside of me says, "I have nothing to write!"

First voice replies, "Doesn't matter. Just start and see what happens."

Mostly, I'm afraid not to blip. Deep within me there's this belief that if I teach writing, but don't write, it would be like always reading the instructions to the Monopoly Game, but never actually rolling the dice to play the game, never touching the paper money, never passing "Go" and collecting the bucks. I've got to write. A dancer could not perform, if she did not practice. And there must be moments that she does not want to practice (it's hard work).

So tonight I'm thinking about not blipping. When I downloaded my cheapie camera this evening, nothing of any value came tumbling out. That just multiplied the thought that I had nothing of interest to write. Took lots of photos on the freeway this afternoon (took a quick trip to Costa Mesa for a 2:00 p.m. appt with a California Teachers Assoc retirement counselor for a routine check-up on the forecast for my future retirement). We travel the freeway seldom and freeway travel here on a Friday afternoon is insane, especially coming back from Orange County toward the Inland Empire where we live. But none of my photos captured the traffic.

Maybe I haven't listened to enough music this week. Maybe I'm too tired from all of this week's paper grading. Maybe I haven't gotten enough sleep.

So with a click of the remote, music fills this room. "Take the Long Way Home" is playing. I'd rather be dancing.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. What does my writing teacher know anyway?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.