Opal Rainbow

By opalrainbow

Exodus

Woke up at 3am. Couldn't sleep. Too stuffy. Never mind. At least I'll catch the sunrise. Not with 100% cloud cover I won't.

Got even warmer and stuffier. Off to Wet n Wild we went, to hang out with the rest of the Gold Coast. The smoke haze from the fires on North Sraddie drifted over early afternoon. About 2:35 all rides were suspended and the pool was cleared out due to 'inclement weather conditions'. Which actually means thunder and lightning. Packed the kids up, jumped in car and got nearly to the entrance before the mass exodus began. Still, it was a headstart compared to most.

Managed to get home and showered by the time the storm hit. It was quite impressive and I even managed to keep the dogs pretty calm through it all. When it was all over, I gave myself a mental pat on the back.

Note to self - do not do that again.

I had my back to it, but I knew from the brightness of the flash that there would be no time to start counting. I know I screamed at the explosion of thunder. Not that anyone would have heard me. I think it hit the chicken factory behind us, a metal monstrosity that sits on the very top of the hill we are on. For once, I was glad it was there.

Time for a shandy....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.