View from my window

By skiesnsunsets

Almost missed it

I almost left it too late to take a blip out of the window this afternoon. I just caught this lovely pink cloud before the light went.

There's quite a bit of building work going on down on the front at the moment. They're building a kind of weird bandstand/shelter in the old millennium garden area, and over by the river is a large crane which I guess is part of the river flood defence building. The area along the river is being re-developed with new flood defences to make a river walk which looks nice on paper, but it's been dire for the shop keepers along there.

We took a walk along the beach up towards the beach huts which got flooded out. I don't think I've ever seen so much seaweed that far up the beach. It was almost up to the road. One beach hut seems half demolished and the roof was off, but it was in bad repair anyway. The others seem to have come through the storms OK but I expect they'll need a lot of cleaning out. We didn't find anything really interesting among the seaweed, just a few complete oysters which was strange, and a rather large plastic wheel. No plastic bags and only a few bits and pieces of small plastic which was encouraging. It was very windy but surprisingly not very cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.