The Daily Record

By havohej

Deicide In the Minds of Evil

Deicide ‘In the Minds of Evil’ (Century Media, 2013)

Happy New Year Blippers!

It’s been a busy couple of months in the household of the ever spinning death deck; The Process played their final (triumphant, if I dare say so) gigs with Iron Lung, we’ve organised our 40th birthday party, we’ve seen the incomparable Black Sabbath and had one of the most hectic/enjoyable festive holidays in many a year.

So back, once again, to the very sporadic trawl through the spinning discs of doom which have once again been added to in virtually impossible to listen to amounts since Dead Infection were tackled.

Another reason for the interminable delay in updates was the fact that I was awaiting delivery of Deicide’s latest opus; ‘In the Minds of Evil’. Unfortunately, for both The Mourning One, AKA Finch, and myself, Nuclear Blast decided to take ten weeks to deliver his sickening green version and my fiery red platter of splatter. I could have Blipped any one of Deicide’s first four albums because I love three of them deeply, but I thought I’d wait for some fresh meat.

Musically, Decide sit comfortably at the left hand side of Morbid Angel as part of my unholy trinity of Death Metal (Grave are proudly to the right). Heads down, grooving, evil brutality is what you’ve always got from Deicide even on their most vilified/pedestrian releases such as’ In Torment In Hell’. Despite Benton’s increasingly laconic approach in interviews, ‘In the Minds of Evil’ once again reflects the overweight biker’s unquenchable rage and he delivers every line of spite in his unmistakable and hugely influential style.

I’ll never be as much as a fan boy of Deicide as I am of Morbid Angel because they were never quite as mind bendingly original or ‘out there’, but they’re still producing the goods 23 years after their debut (which Pringle bought on CD and still ribs me about not liking when it first came out!). ‘In the Minds of Evil’, including instant classics such as ‘Beyond Salvation’, ‘Between the Flesh and the Void’, ‘Even the Gods can Bleed’ and ‘Fallen to Silence’, delivers undeniable evidence of this.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.