DaveWoolmer

By DaveWoolmer

Fire

With the weather being foul and it going dark long before I get home from work I've been struggling for blip inspiration.

I decided to have a nice fire this evening and thought I'd have a play around with long exposures. The flames were coming out very well but it was lacking something, so i added some light painting using the torch on my phone to paint light over the coals for part of the exposure.

The image is actually two exposures, one with and one without the light painting. The two were combined in photoshop, using a layer mask to bring some of the lighter image back through. Finally added a touch of viveza on selected parts of the flames to enhance the reds and oranges.

I'm far happier with today's blip than yesterdays! Shame about the difficulty I had uploading due to IT issues, hence the very late (back) blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.