lastlight

By lastlight

Flooding and infrared.

Took three attempts and forty five minutes to try and find a away out of the village and into town that wasn't flooded. And then when I got to the station it was closed - due to flooding. Ended up working from home.

This is not a particularly interesting shot it has to be said - the subject matter could be better. It's the back garden and the poor apple tree that got blown down in the storm a few months ago. Now had a hair cut and propped back up to see if it feels like making a go of it. Spring will tell.

Anyway the reason I'm posting it is that it's my first reasonably successful attempt and false colour infra red photography - the key to which is getting some colour separation between different objects in the image, normally everything just comes out red. And the key was white balance. I knew this but just couldn't get a custom preset to work - so today I went with setting it manually: 2500k as low as it'll go on the D800 and max green tint too.

I'm chuffed. Can't wait for the weekend to get out and take some half decent shots with it.

By the way I know what you're thinking and no I wasn't skiving from work, took this in my lunch break. Ended up working an extra hour trying to get the financials finished - so there! ;P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.