Dirty Wicker

By nicola

Treasure

There's a lovely wee antique shop in Abbeyhill I like to visit from time to time - partly because it has some great treasures and partly because the woman who runs the shop has waxed her eyebrows off and pencilled them in three inches too high, so constantly looks surprised.

Last time I was there they had the most beautiful old carved oak chairs upholstered in heavily embroidered ship fabric. They must have lost their minds as they were re-upholstering the chairs in velvet and turfing out this beautiful 100 year old fabric. So I bought the fabric at a bargain price and made it into this cushion for my dad.

Felt like Kirstie Allsopp, but a less posh, more Wick version. Another bitching Saturday night for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.