EmilyRose7

By EmilyRose7

Stars and earrings

I have had these string of silver glittery stars for years now. I really like them. They are perfect for my love off all things shinny and that bedazzle. My mom got them for me probably 10 years ago and she has had to re-glitter them more then once. I took them with me to undergrad, then I took them to Botswana, then Boston and now they are residing in my room in Jordan. These starts have been to many continents.

I always bring a few light weight things with me when I move countries or states that remind me of home or just help are nice things that I can have in each place that I know have gone everywhere with me. This string of silvery stars, usually a blanket and a small green guitar pick that I found in a drawer in my classroom at the orphanage in South Africa when I was 20...those few things and maybe a few others depending on where I'm off to, always go with me.

I hung up my stars today (I'm not always on time with the whole home decorating thing) and I decided they should serve another purpose. I decided to use my string of stars to hang my earrings up on the mirror in my room. A little tradition I have with myself that I didn't even realize I started until a few years ago is that I have bought and continue to buy earrings in every new country I visit.

I always buy presents for my family when I travel to a new place: my sister usually wants a coffee cup or magnets for her fridge, my grandpa gets a baseball hat with the country name on it, my mom gets anything from rocks on the beach to basically anything cause she's a mom like that and will find something to like about it (or she'll email me and tell me what she wants), I used to get my grandma shinny things (I think i got my bedazzlement love form her!) and if I can find things for friends then I do. I buy myself earrings.

I have collected many earrings over the years and 5 continents, so i don't always bring all of them with me when i move somewhere. Most are currently in a baggy in the corner or my childhood room at my mother's house right now, but i always bring the ones I wear the most or like when I travel/move somewhere. Every girl has a "thing." Mine isn't shoes or cloths or purses, but earrings. Sometimes I can;t even wear the earrings in the country i bought them in due to cultural issues, but I still buy them. Its become a nice tradition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.