Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Church flowers.

365 Grateful day 6

WI, Women's Institute, Wild Indians, what ever you refer to them as, I am grateful to them for giving me the chance to go to Denman College* some five years ago.
I'm not quite sure about the how's and why's as to us being granted free courses (they cost about £300.00 each) but we, all 14 of us, went down to Oxfordshire in February 2009 to do some learning.
I did flower arranging.
It was a fraught week as my Mum had taken ill two days before I was to leave, the nursing home said that her state was not dire and that I should go. (Mum had spoken to me so many times about Denman and how wonderful it was, and as a staunch WI member she had for many years wanted me to join... I yielded in 2007. She was chuffed to bits that not only had I become a member, I was going to The WI college!)
I returned home on Friday 20th to find that she was giving up. She had 'had enough'... her words.
My Mum passed away on the 25th Feb 2009. I was with her, as was my brother. I was able ( thanks to mum and denman college) to make up the flowers for her funeral, it gave me something to focus on and hold on to on the worst day of my life.

I hope this arrangement in memory of our friend is ok.

*Denman college

Having viewed this on the laptop....not such a good photo... hey ho!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.