creative lenna

By creativelenna

learning a visual language

A photo of my own pastel piece today, taken in a class this afternoon taught by the talented Bill Buchman. This journal entry is also part of Cathaber's Sound Illustration Challenge - the last day!! Boo Hoo : (

With Bill's permission, I have included some of the typical sounds in his creative mixed media art class via a short video I made, please listen here for the full effect. You will see and hear a bit of his pastel demonstration, including what the pastels sound like when pressed on paper and a small snippet of Bill's lecture. I always learn so much from Bill. Here are some of my notes below. I am including them as I think they will have meaning to photographers too.

Bill told us today, his job as an artist was to get us to the point where we believe we can make art. Develop confidence. He said knowledge develops confidence. Self doubt is every artists' problem. Getting better at dealing with it is the answer. He said, *Suspend disbelief and trust more*.

Then he spoke about the elements of art: Line, Shape & Color - plus Texture.
Color is the least important, he says - it is just the icing on the cake.

We are trying to learn another language through this class =
a Visual Language...
A method of communication... a series of symbols that communicate an idea and also the method of conveying the language... develop your awareness of visual language and learn how to speak it on paper!


It was a great class and I am happy to share it with you. Plus, I must say again how exciting & inspiring this challenge was for me, thanks ever so much to Cathaber for hosting & to hobbs for inspiring her to do the challenge. I also enjoyed meeting some new blip friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.