You're Killing Me Smalls

By janewayoda

The day my last hobby almost died.

Since giving birth to my son I've given up the majority of my hobbies.

I am always very cautious now about where I place my camera as my son is already very interested in it. I made the mistake of leaving it on the dining room table not in it's camera bag while I ran to the bathroom. I didn't factor in the fact that my son can now climb on the chairs. One loud crash, a crying baby, and a beyond angry mother.

After I put my son into a time out, assessed the damage, and cried quite a bit I got to work. I have a love/hate relationship with this glue. It works so so well but it also loves to grab onto flesh every chance it gets and works just as well on it. I have already had to use this glue to repair the tripod attachment to my camera when my son got a hold of it before.

I thankfully was able to glue the two broken pieces back on and reattach it. The only problem now is that my camera is much more fragile. I can feel that it is a little loose now. But I guess I should just feel happy that it still works.

I NEED this hobby. I NEED to take pictures. I NEED to have this small amount of artistic release in my day. I don't paint, draw, cross stitch, or knit really anymore. All of these things take time, money, and space I no longer really have. If I had to I would have duct taped my lens to my camera. But deep breaths and on with the show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.