Happy Memorie

Taking a break from the torrential rainI hot footed it inside Gloucester Cathedral this afternoon for an hour.

I just loved this marble effigy with it's intricate detail and exquisite light which almost made it glow - I would say with recumbent happiness, as he is lying there with a rather complacent smile!

'To the Happy Memorie' is written above the tomb of Gertrude and 'Abraham Blackleech Gent: ......deservedly endeared to posterity by Piety expressed in his bounty to St Paul's London, to this church, to the high wayes..and the poore'. A good and benevolent man by all accounts and one worthy of a blip I feel.

Head on a plush plumped up cushion, feet on an eagle in long spurred boots, sporting a moustache and beard, having rather delicate elongated fingers, curly locks, an ornate sword and fabulous ruff. He died in 1639 when Charles I was on the throne and this is a fine example of the dress and style of the time.

More of today

Only an hour because of the car parking so I will return!

My Sound Illustration Challenge as set by Cathaber is this :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.