Rural Boxes

Out and about today passing many mail boxes and got me wondering, will we always have mail boxes to the entrance of our properties.

I remember bread and eggs being delivered to our box when I was a child along with the milk, local paper and mail. Today the milkman is a rarity, the bread and egg man has long gone, the paper boy still comes to selected properties and the mail in New Zealand is going from a six day delivery service down to a three day delivery service this year or next.

Our boxes may still remain standing greeting people as they enter our property and still retaining the most important job of all, stating the number of our property.

Mum and I quite liked this row sitting beside the wildflowers and long grasses, the mother hen on one of them with five little chicks (which are more visible in large), the red and black for Canterbury colours sitting beside the rivals blue and gold of Otago, while the end one looks so scratched and battered as its weathered - all so different as I guess the occupants of the properties are.

I'm cross with myself today, as I was flying through the kitchen gathering things up for the recycling bin, I spied the closed egg carton and had forgotten it was sitting on the bench to remind me to boil some eggs for our salad tonight - you know what happened don't you.....I picked the corner up and all the weight was at one end, fell from my hand and splat! My eggs laid smashed on the floor. I've never done this and couldn't believe I had let it slip from my mind, this really isn't turning out to be the best of weeks! I didn't even think to blip it! Things have to get better or this week needs to end sooner rather than later - another day tomorrow.

Hope your all having a better Thursday than I :)







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.