Plus ça change...

By SooB

Peaceful Easy Feeling

Calm relaxing day today doing little bits of not very much.

Went out this evening to a talk by Arun Gandhi, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi and an advocate of non-violence. Fascinating stuff. He spoke without notes, of his memories of the lessons his Grandfather had taught him. Some of it I had heard before, but one interesting thought to take away from it was that non-violence is not just about wars or physical violence between people; it is also about the wasting of the earth's resources being about violence against nature, and about passive violence - where your actions may not physically hurt another, but may nonetheless hurt them in some other way.

I didn't agree with all he said, but certainly came away with a lot to think about, particularly about anger and how to focus it on change rather than just carrying on being angry. With all my recent ranting against the world, I'm sure there's something I can learn there!

This photo is very poor, but will remind me of the evening when I see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.