Dockland Gulls (after Paul Klee)

That is, gull silhouettes on a canvas warehouse roof, seen from underneath.

The sloped roof gave them a slightly elongated comic distortion which made me think of Klee's birds.

Anyway, my Dublin Port pass has been renewed, so I drove over there today, after giving my wife a lift into work.

First stop was Alexandra Road. Bright sun, broad yards with weeds etching their shadows on crumbling walls. This is what I love about the docklands: vast spaces between all the grinding heavy industry 'where a thought might grow' (flourishing like the hardy weeds). A couple of big bulk-cargo ships were in port. I drove out to the East end, those huge blue-walled warehouses (full of big rolls of paper, what I think is called break-cargo). This is where I looked up and saw the gulls.

Afterwards, on the way home, I called into the southside port, the Hammond Lane dock, where I met a couple of stevedores, Kenneth and Shane, up on one of the big dockside cranes. They were great, very friendly and informative. I shot a few portraits, including one of Kenneth for the 'When You're A Stranger' project.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.