JoMoMMS

By JoMoMMS

Down On The Range

This strange looking bit of kit is going to become my best friend over the next few months.
It's called PerfectaPlane and we have just been introduced by Stuart Williamson, the excellent and patient teaching Pro at the Clydeway Golf Range near Uddingston. It will, he assures me, sort out my swing. Which is very ugly.
I have a nasty habit of taking my club inside on the backswing. So that the club head ends up somewhere behind me. Probably grimacing. Wondering, "Why am I in this position and how on earth do I hit the ball from here?"
This awkward position means that on the downward swing I come through over the top, like a mad axeman, and cut across the ball causing it to go to the right. The additional spin also reduces distance. So, not pretty and not very effective.
The upright pole stops you going inside and should, in theory, get your swing onto the perfect plane. If everything else is in the right place you make a better contact with the ball and it should fly beautifully through the air towards the target.
Guess what? It works.
But, Guess what? As soon as the gadget is taken away I slowly slipped back into the old ways. Off the plane.
And a third, Guess what? Regular practice is the only way to sort this swing and keep me on the perfect plane.
This, I can tell you, is almost as difficult to find and keep to as the straight and narrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.