Mikey88

By Mikey88

Demise of a Garden Seat

No great adventures today - just pottering around the house catching up with a few jobs.

After being blown down on four occasions over the last couple of weeks, the garden seat finally gave up the ghost and began to come apart at the seams, so one of my jobs in the afternoon was to begin taking it apart ready to go to the tip. I was quite impressed that I managed to find the allen key which came with it after ten or twelve years.

Most of the screws I tried came out quite easily, but some of them didn't move and actually snapped off, so I had to rip bits of it apart. It's a shame we are losing it, as it's lovely to sit on in the spring, when the late afternoon sun shines directly on it.

I think we'll probably replace it with a park bench-type seat, which should be more stable. That only leaves the question about what to do with the honeysuckle which can be seen growing up (or now horizontally) along the side of the chair.

Having seen some of the problems other people are suffering from after the storms, we have got away very, very lightly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.